top of page

A Mini Vacation to Chetola!

Chetola, a place away from home, as I like to call it. This is one of the only places I am familiar with here in Boone, NC and I love it every time I am able to visit. I just might move over to Blowing Rock (we'll have to see)! Since my aunt used to be an employee in the late 90's, I thought how cool would it be to actually see how they market their business.

When I found out that our Social Media Strategies class was taking a education trip to Chetola, I honestly couldn't contain my excitement. Who actually gets to go on a field trip in college...not me anyways.

As soon as we arrived, we were led into the main building that houses their receptionist desk and all of their conference rooms. Then, for the fun part, we were able to take a tour around the 87 acre resort (which is beautiful by the way, and I definitely recommend taking a trip up there). After our tour, we were graced with the opportunity to meet the Bryan Moore, Chetola's Director of marketing! He gave us the run down of how they manage their social media platforms to help market their business.

One thing that he stressed, even though I cannot say I agree, was that he dislike Hootsuite. One of his main reasons for disliking Hootsuite was the fact that it didn't post any personal content. Although I happen to disagree, they were able to find a way to increase their content and followers through Google Analytics.

I thoroughly enjoyed this mini vacation and appreciate his generosity to reward us with free beverages, due to our sudden photo shoot. If you ever get the chance to relax or if you have a team building exorcises( nothing to strenuous though), this is definitely they place to be.


bottom of page